Political Dynamics in Bihar Shift as Nitish Kumar Steps Down

Jitan Ram Manjhi and Santosh Kumar Manjhi are also expected to go with Nitish Kumar to the Raj Bhawan…reports Asian Lite News

In a significant political development, Nitish Kumar, the Chief Minister of Bihar, officially resigned from his post today. The decision culminates days of intense speculation surrounding the leader’s potential shift towards rejoining an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The leader of the Janata Dal (United) arrived at the governor’s office and formally submitted his resignation at 11 am. Prior to this, he held a meeting with Members of the Legislative Assembly (MLAs) from his party at his official residence.

Nitish Kumar’s resignation marks his departure from the 28-party Opposition bloc INDIA, signaling his intention to forge a new coalition with the BJP. There are indications that he is considering the removal of ministers affiliated with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), his erstwhile alliance partner led by Lalu Yadav, according to sources close to the development.

This move by Nitish Kumar adds a new layer of complexity to the political landscape in Bihar, prompting keen observations on the potential realignment of alliances and the ensuing impact on the state’s governance.

Amid high political drama in Bihar, Chief Minister Nitish Kumar has requested an appointment with Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arleker on Sunday morning.

The Raj Bhawan sources said that the governor has given the time to Nitish Kumar at 10.30 a.m.

Nitish Kumar is expected to resign from the post of chief minister of the Mahagathbandhan government and also stake his claim to be the chief minister for the ninth time with the help of BJP and NDA constituents.

He will be accompanied by BJP state president Samrat Choudhary, leader of opposition Vijay Kumar Sinha and BJP Bihar in charge Vinod Tavare.

Jitan Ram Manjhi and Santosh Kumar Manjhi are also expected to go with Nitish Kumar to the Raj Bhawan.

At present, BJP is holding the meeting in Atal Sabhagar of its headquarters in Patna. They are expected to go to the residence of Nitish Kumar around 10 a.m. and handover the letter of support bearing signatures of all 78 MLAs.

Nitish Kumar has already taken the signature of his party MLAs on Saturday evening.

Kumar will carry the support letter of BJP and HAM-S legislators to the Bihar Governor. He is expected to take oath for the ninth time on Sunday evening. Keeping this in view, Patna district administration has imposed section 144 in the Raj Bhawan area and strictly prohibited any kind of protest march or Dharna.

ALSO READ-Modi, Macron hold roadshow, visit heritage sites in Jaipur


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *