Kharge urges voters in third phase polling

Voting is underway for 93 Lok Sabha seats across 12 states and union territories in the third phase of the general election on Tuesday…reports Asian Lite News

Congress National President Mallikarjun Kharge on Tuesday urged countrymen to come in large numbers and vote in the third phase of the ongoing Lok Sabha election and said that when you press that button on the EVM, keep in mind that you are deciding not just your future but the collective future of 140 crore fellow Indians.

In a post on X, Kharge said that a correct decision now can create an India where “Justice” is supreme.

“Vote to save Constitution; Vote to protect Democracy! 11 Crore people in 93 Constituencies shall exercise their democratic right, not just to elect their representatives, but to decide whether they want to secure their Constitutional Rights or witness our great nation veer towards Dictatorship. I sincerely urge you to choose democracy so that our Institutions can return to their independent form and are not pressed under the thumb of brute power. We are right in the middle of the battle. A correct decision now can create an India where NYAY i.e. JUSTICE is supreme,” he said.

He also mentioned “Yuva Nyay, Naari Nyay, Kisaan Nyay, Shramik Nyay and Hissedari Nyay” in his post, which Rahul Gandhi had mentioned during his Bharat Jodo Nyay Yatra.

“When you press that button on the EVM, keep in mind that you are deciding not just your future but the collective future of 140 crore fellow Indians. My warm welcome to the first-time voters, who are the flagbearers of change. Remember, the sound of the voting button will strengthen the Constitution. Come out in large numbers and vote. Choose Wisely,” Kharge added.

Meanwhile, voting is underway for 93 Lok Sabha seats across 12 states and union territories in the third phase of the general election on Tuesday.

The states and union territories where the elections are being held in this phase are Assam (4), Bihar (5), Chhattisgarh (7), Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (2), Goa (2), Gujarat (25), Karnataka (14), Maharashtra (11), Madhya Pradesh (8), Uttar Pradesh (10) and West Bengal (4). The BJP has bagged the Surat seat unopposed. (ANI)

Jyotiraditya eyes to regain his family’s bastion as BJP candidate

The high-profile Guna Lok Sabha constituency in Madhya Pradesh will vote in the third phase on Tuesday. The parliamentary constituency consists of eight Assembly seats spread across three districts — Guna, Ashok Nagar, and Shivpuri. Its eight Vidhan Sabha constituencies are Shivpuri, Pichhore, Kolaras, Bamori, Guna, Ashok Nagar, Chanderi, and Mungaoli.

In this election, Jyotiraditya Scindia is contesting his first Lok Sabha polls with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and hopes to reclaim his family’s lost bastion of Guna after more than four years since he made the switch from the Congress.

Guna is historically a stronghold of the Scindia family, as Vijaya Raje Scindia, Madhavrao Scindia, and Jyotiraditya Scindia have all seen electoral success here. BJP which won the Guna Lok Sabha seat in 2019, decided to drop its sitting MP and fielded Jyotiraditya Scindia as their Lok Sabha candidate, who previously won four times from this seat on Congress’s ticket. Notably, Scindia lost the Guna Lok Sabha seat in 2019 against BJP’s Krishna Pal Singh Yadav as a Congress candidate.

Scindia joined the party in March 2020 as he led a rebel group of Congress 22 MLAs to bring down the Kamal Nath-led MP government.

The Scindia family borough has retained the Guna seat on 14 occasions out of 18 elections held for this LS seat, regardless of party affiliations.

This time, for Scindia, his wife Priyadarshini Raje Scindia and son Mahanaryaman are also on the campaign trail.

On the other hand, Congress has fielded Rao Yadavendra Singh Yadav, who joined Congress after leaving BJP in 2023. This will be Yadvendra Singh’s first attempt at the mainstream politics.

Yadav, whose father was a BJP MLA, had moved to the Opposition party just ahead of the 2023 Assembly election. Yadav’s father, Rao Deshraj Singh Yadav, has also unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha polls from Guna, once losing to Madhavrao Scindia in 1999 and then again losing to the younger Scindia in 2002.

Madhya Pradesh is set to go to the polls for nine parliamentary seats in the third phase of the Lok Sabha election from 7 am onwards tomorrow and a total of 127 candidates, including nine women candidates are in the fray in this phase, an official said.

Nine parliamentary seats in the state – Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal, Rajgarh and Betul- will go to the polls in the third phase of LS polls on May 7 from 7 am to 6 pm. A total of 72 assembly constituencies and 19 districts are included in these nine Lok Sabha seats which will undergo polling.

Lok Sabha polls in Madhya Pradesh are being conducted in four phases. The first phase of polling was held on April 19 and the second phase was concluded on April 26.

The third phase of polling is scheduled for tomorrow May 7 and the fourth which is the last phase of LS polls in the state will be held on May 13. The counting of votes will be held on June 4.

With 29 Lok Sabha constituencies, Madhya Pradesh ranks sixth among all states in terms of its representation in the Lower House. Of these, 10 seats are reserved for SC and ST candidates, while the remaining 19 are unreserved. (ANI)

ALSO READ-Kharge slams Modi as ‘King of lies’


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *