24 Writers Honoured With Sahitya Akademi Award

The diversity of languages and cultures was highlighted through the array of winners….reports Asian Lite News

Twenty-four distinguished writers were honoured with the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award for the year 2023, a momentous occasion coinciding with the 70th anniversary celebrations of the National Academy of Letters at the ‘Sahityotsav’. The awards recognized literary excellence across various genres, including poetry, novels, short stories, essays, and literary studies. Among the recipients, English author Neelum Saran Gaur was acknowledged for her book “Requiem in Raga Janki,” while Hindi novelist Sanjeev received accolades for his novel “Mujhe Pehchaano.”

The diversity of languages and cultures was highlighted through the array of winners. Sadiqua Nawab Saher’s “Rajdev Ki Amrai” in Urdu and Swarnjit Savi’s “Mann Di Chip” in Punjabi stood out, alongside other notable works in Dogri, Gujarati, Kashmiri, Manipuri, Odia, Rajasthani, Sanskrit, and Sindhi.

Further recognition was extended to outstanding novels by authors such as Swapnamay Chakrabarti (Bengali), Krushnat Khot (Marathi), and Rajasekaran Devibharathi (Tamil). Short story collections were also honoured, representing languages like Assamese, Bodo, Konkani, Santali, and Telugu. Essays in Kannada, Maithili, and Nepali, as well as a literary study in Malayalam, added depth to the diverse literary landscape.

Addressing the gathering, Jnanpith awardee Pratibha Ray emphasized the significance of language and literature in preserving culture and fostering unity. Sahitya Akademi president Madhav Kaushik praised writers for their role in representing the human experience and amplifying the voices of the marginalized.

The selection process for the awards involved rigorous evaluation by jurors or through majority voting. Eligible works were those published within the five years leading up to the award year, underscoring contemporary literary contributions.

Each recipient was honoured with a symbolic casket containing an engraved copper plaque, a shawl, and a cash prize of Rs 1 lakh. The ceremony served as a testament to the enduring power of literature in shaping societies and bridging cultural divides, reaffirming its universal relevance amidst changing times.

ALSO READ: Khattar quits as Haryana CM


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *