Mamata cautions newly elected non-BJP Parliamentarians

Mamata said that although the INDIA bloc hasn’t yet staked its claim, it will form the government eventually….reports Asian Lite News

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee on Friday said that she cannot extend her well wishes to the BJP-led NDA government ascending to power through undemocratic, unconstitutional, and illegal means, while cautioning non-BJP Parliamentarians to fortify their parties against potential attempts by the Bharatiya Janata Party to destabilize them.

Narendra Modi will be sworn in on Sunday as the Prime Minister for the third consecutive time.

“I cannot wish well to a government which is coming to power undemocratically, unconstitutionally and illegally. I am sorry for that. I want to wish well for the country. Let us hope for the best, for the future,” the Chief Minister said.

Furthermore, Mamata Banerjee said that the opposition INDIA bloc could potentially assert its claim to form the government, implying that the Modi-led NDA government that will be formed tomorrow might not last long.

“No one should think that just because INDIA has not staked the claim to form the government, it will not do the same. We are waiting and watching the situation. The country needs change. No one wants Modi. After such loss of seats, PM Modi should have left the space for someone else,” Banerjee said.

She said that although the INDIA bloc hasn’t yet staked its claim, it will form the government eventually and the new BJP-led government will be in power for a short period.

“The new government will ultimately be INDIA, the BJP will be there for some days. Let them see themselves how they can satisfy everyone,” she said.

The TMC supremo said that the parties in the NDA bloc have too many demands and they would like to “wait and watch” what happens to the ruling coalition.

“The difference between NDA and INDIA is that though I have respect for teams in the NDA, they have too many demands. But in INDIA, we do not want anything except good for people and the country. We are dedicated and determined. So let us wait and watch,” Banerjee said.

Mamata Banerjee said that she will not be attending the swearing-in ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi at Delhi, adding that she has also not been invited.

“I have neither received (the invitation), nor will I go. I have already said that I wish well for the people in the country for not voting for him (PM Modi),” Banerjee said when she was asked by reporters if she would attend the swearing-in ceremony of PM-designate Narendra Modi on Sunday.

“I am sorry, but I cannot wish well to an unconstitutional, illegal party for forming the government. My best wishes will be for the country,” the Chief Minister added.

The Chief Minister also invited all INDIA bloc members to her state.

“I will not go Delhi but all INDIA leaders should come to Kolkata. I welcome all INDIA leaders to Bengal,” Banerjee said.

The West Bengal Chief Minister also cautioned the non-BJP Parliamentarians who have won in the recently concluded Lok Sabha polls to remain vigilant as the Bharatiya Janata Party will try to break their parties.

“I will tell all the MPs(winning MPs of all parties) to strengthen their party. Otherwise, they (BJP) will try to break your party. BJP has to understand that they should not break parties because their party will break from within,” the Trinamool Congress supremo said.

She further took a jibe at the BJP, saying, “We (TMC) will not break your party (BJP) but there will be divisions in your party(BJP) from within. People in your party are not happy,” Trinamool Congress supremo added.

The All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) on Saturday elected West Bengal Chief Minister and party chief Mamata Banerjee as the chairperson of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) Parliamentary Party in an internal party meeting of all newly elected MPs.

After getting elected as the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Party, Banerjee said, “We have a strength of 42 MPs if you count Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. I am grateful that they have announced me as the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Party, both in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. The party has nominated Sudip Bandopadhyay as the Leader of the Party in Lok Sabha, Dr Kakoli Ghosh Dastidar as the Deputy Leader in Lok Sabha, Kalyan Banerjee as the Chief Whip. We will decide the Standing Party chairman later on.”

“In the Rajya Sabha, TMC MP Derek O’Brien has been elected as the Leader of the Party in Rajya Sabha, Sagarika Ghose as the Deputy Leader and Nadimul Haque as the Chief Whip,” she added.

ALSO READ: India-built school building inaugurated in Nepal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *